General Meeting Thursday Nov. 19 at 6 PM

Our annual general meeting will be Thursday evening, November 19, at 6:00 p.m. , at the Johnson Elementary School, which is located at 1800 Monroe Street between Hickory and Cohn.  Parking will be available in the Johnson school yard, and security will be provided.

Confirmed speakers:  Major Little with NOPD and Monique Pilie with Hike for KaTREEna.  Invited:  New Orleans Fire Department, Green Light NOLA

Board elections: Betty reported on the work of the Nominating Committee.  Persons who have volunteered or been recommended by others include:

Marilyn Barbera*

Barry Brantley

Kevin Brown*

Gordon Cagnolatti*

Betty DiMarco*

Ariel Dorfman

Camilla Franklin

Rudolf Garrison*

Marshall Hevron*

Andreas Hoffman

Byron Johnson

Anne Nicolay

Julianna Padgett*

Elizabeth Reed

* = Continuing board member

The Nominating Committee is continuing to communicate with nominees about their interests prior to making its final recommendation. All nominees will be encouraged to attend the general meeting.

The Nominating Committee also recommended that the board consider the following amendments to the bylaws:

1.        Change “50%” to “40%” in the provision requiring that “approximately 50%” of board seats expire each year.

2.       Clarify that only one person per household is eligible for board membership at a given time